Wisconsin has a 2014 CCA of the Year!

Bryan Jensen, IPM Program

Please join the WI CCA Board in congratulating Jeff Polenske as our 2014 WI CCA of the Year!

Jeff has over 26 years of Wisconsin crop advising experience and currently works with 56 clients and over 50,000 acres of corn, soybean, alfalfa and wheat in Northeast Wisconsin. His company, Tilth Agronomy (formerly Polenske Agronomic Consulting), employs 8 permanent staff (5 of which are CCA’s), 2 part time staff and several summer interns.  Jeff was raised in Wisconsin and Nebraska but moved permanently to Wisconsin to attend UW-Madison where he completed his degree in Agronomy. Jeff and his wife live in the Appleton area and have raised three daughters.

Jeff is a registered Technical Service Provider for NRCS and is certified to write both CNMP’s and Conservation Plans for Wisconsin. Jeff visits clients on a weekly basis during the growing season and his services include field scouting with emphasis on IPM techniques and recommendations. Jeff and his staff are active supporters of on-farm research including several WAPAC Grain and UWEX Research trials. Currently they are working on a Maximum Return to Nitrogen (MRTN) plot to refine nitrogen rates on corn.

Jeff’s professional contributions include:

-Active membership in the Wisconsin Association of Professional Agricultural Consultants and has served as president.

-Active member of the National Alliance of Independent Crop Consultants. Jeff currently serves on the Educational Outreach Committee and is the committee co-chair for the Precision Agriculture Committee.

-Additionally, Jeff is the co-chair for the University of Wisconsin Integrated Crop and Pest Management programs’ (NPM, PAT and IPM) stakeholders committee.

Jeff, we’re not sure if there can be any higher praise than having your colleagues and clients nominate you for this award. Congratulations Jeff!

Jeff (center) along with colleagues Todd Schaumberg (left) and Matt Brugger (right)
Jeff (center) along with colleagues Todd Schaumberg (left) and Matt Brugger (right)